You Are Viewing

Winners & Nominees 2011

*Winners are listed first and are bolded*


Best of the Festival (Jury Award)

*Calender Girl
Death by Medicine
Der Sandman
The Desperate

Best of the Festival (Audience Award)

*Big Guns
Walk a Mile in My Pradas
Atantic Crossing
After the Fire
Calander Girl
Front Ma

Best Feature Film

*Calendar Girl – Tommy Avalone, John Guarnere, Derek Lindeman, Frank Vain, Anne Qualtieri 
Der Sandmann – Peter Luisi
Mortem – Eric Atlan
Vulnerable – Alan Lock
The Girl From The Naked Eye – Jason Yee & Ron Yuan

Best Screenplay (Feature Film)

*Uncle Melvin’s Apartment – Craig Weintraub & Mitchell Walters
All God’s Creatures – Josh Folan & Billy Fox
Calendar Girl – Faith Brody
Der Sandmann – Peter Luisi & David Luisi
Walk A Mile In My Pradas – Rick Karatas  & Tom Archdeacon

Best Director (Feature Film)

*Der Sandmann – Peter Luisi
The “A” Plate – Terre Weissman
Vulnerable – Alan Lock
Mortem – Eric Atlan
The Girl From The Naked Eye – David Ren

Best Actor (Feature Film)

*The Last Gamble – Steven Bauer
Uncle Melvin’s Apartment – Mitchell Walters
The Girl From the Naked Eye – Jason Yee
Der Sandmann – Fabian Kruger
Big Guns – Chris McDonnell

Best Actress (Feature Film)

*Calendar Girl – Jensen Bucher
Der Sandmann – Irene Bruger
Vulnerable – Emma Leonard
All God’s Creatures – Jessica Kaye
Mortem – Diana Rudychenko

Best Supporting Actress (Feature Film)

*The “A” Plate – Priscilla Barnes
The Last Gamble – Sally Kirkland
Walk a Mile In My Pradas – Kirsten Lea
Vulnerable – Kym Thorne
The Girl From the Naked Eye – Samantha Streets

Best Supporting Actor (Feature Film)

*Walk A Mile In My Pradas – Tom Archdeacon
Vulnerable – Jackson Heywood
Calendar Girl – Nick Troy
The “A” Plate – Sam McMurray
The Girl From The Naked Eye – Ron Yuan

Best Cinematography (Feature Film)

*The Girl From the Naked Eye – Max Da-Yung Wang
Mortem – Eric Atlan
Der Sandmann – Claudio Cea
Neander Jin – Chris Hilden, bvk
Free Man – Tarik Tanrisever

Best Editor (Feature Film)

*The “A” Plate – Ron Kalish
Der Sandmann – CLaudio Cea
The Girl From The Naked Eye – Greg Babor & Richard Halsey
Neander-Jin – Avgusta Cherneva and Ronen Pestes
Mortem – Eric Atlan

Best Documentary

*Death By Medicine – Gary Null
Zero Percent – Tim Skousen & Robert Fernandez
After the Fire – Guido Verweyen, Anthony Bretti & Michael Huffington
Adam Gets a Vasectomy – Adam Blank
Through The Roof – Chris Thiebert & Matt Peters

Best TV Pilot

*WTFU – Allison Lane  & Chris Ritter
Dicks – Tom Archdeacon & Rick Yudt
Chosen – Kris Brown
Odessa – Al Thompson
The Robber Barons of Wall Street – Peter Killy

Best Short

*The Desperate – Ben Hur Sepehr
Perhaps Tomorrow – Sandy Garfunkel
Perry St – Merry Colomer & Marta Jover
Android Love – Lee Citron
Roger’s Number – Russel Terlecki

Best Short Short

*The Interview – Reynaldo Marcus Green
Nobody But Her – Phillip Jordan Brooks
Over A Cup of Joe – Marla Hammons
Nice Tie, Italiano! – Evan Hart
A Farewell To Arm – Phillip Snyder & Robert Snyder

Best Unproduced Screenplay

*Reunion 108 – Billy Sample
Chez Noir – Neil Graves
Queen of Vengeance – Mark Winzer
Second Thoughts – Chris Warner
The Game of Life – Mark Sarian


Big Guns

Best of the  Festival Jury Award

Calendar Girl


The following terms and conditions apply to cash awards and they cannot be deviated from under any circumstances: Cash prizes are conditioned upon winners personal presence and acceptance at the festival’s Gala Awards Ceremony. The winner of Best Feature Film, Best Documentary Feature, Best Short Film, Best TV Pilot and the Audience Award Best of the Festival, must be personally accepted by the projects’ producer, director or executive producer in order to be eligible for the cash prizes. In order to receive any cash prize, the winner’s film must have been submitted with the appropriate submission fee; films submitted without their respective submission fees are not eligible for cash prizes, though they may win HIFF award(s) and are entitled to the trophies if they do win any HIFF award(s). In the event that HIFF pays for airfare, hotel accommodations and/or ground transportation for any filmmakers and/or any individuals whatsoever and/or provides any free HIFF tickets (beyond the two complementary passes given to filmmakers) for any filmmakers and/or any individuals whatsoever, those said filmmakers/individuals shall forfeit the right to receive any cash prize(s) in a monetary value up to an amount equal to HIFF’s payment of his/her airfare, hotel accommodations and/or ground transportation and/or HIFF tickets(beyond the two complementary passes given to filmmakers).

Facebook Twitter
The Nations Hottest... True... Film Festival.