You Are Viewing

Winners & Nominees 2017


Best Actress


Elena Beuca (D-Love)

Linda Burzynski (Fear, Love & Agoraphobia)

Julianna Robinson (Gas Light)

Michaela Spanle (Vive Le Morte)

Jenna Ushkowitz (Yellow Fever)


Best TV Pilot


Death Lives (Erick Hellwig)

Takers (Rachel Carey)

East (Dana Marisa Schoenfeld)

Gogol (Alexander Tsekalo)

Uncorked Potential (Jack Kauffman)


Best Short Short


Backstory (Joschka Laukeninks)

The Long Island Wolf (Julien Lasseur)

Revenge Is Best Served(Larry Rosen)

Momtress (Jeremiah Kipp)

Milennium: Eternal Sunrise (Vlad Aksenov & Elena Aksenova)


Best Supporting Actor in a Feature Film


Daniel Baldwin (The Red Maple Leaf)

Nicoye Banks (The Dunning Man)

Matthew Lilliard (6 Love Stories)

James Caan (The Red Maple Leaf)

Jd Williams (Beyond The Silence)


Best Unproduced Screenplay


American Hero, written by Mikhael Bassilli

Blood Trigger, written by Ron Podell

Bronx Torpedo, written by Robert Young

The Sum Of Random Chance, written by Kris Ketonen & Lee Chambers

A Summer In Epirus, written by George Baltsas


Best Cinematography


Pablo Chasseraux (Another Forever)

Daniel Cayarga (Disposable)

Joe Dietsch (Happy Hunting)

Ludwig Dranz (Hear The Silence)

David Balding (I, Timon)


Best Editing


Ian Blume & Eugenio Richer (The Dunning Man)

Alex D’lerma (Fear, Love & Agoraphobia)

Joe Dietsch & Lucian Gibson (Happy Hunting)

Jan-Timo Sonnemann (Hear The Silence)

Chris Chan Lee (jasmine)


Hoboken International Film Fesival Award For Excellence In Acting


Joyce DeWitt


Best Short Film


Albedo Absolute (Vlad Marsavin & Elena Baranova)

The Cabinet In The Woods (Andrew Schwarz & Bob Klein)

Flower (Michael Gandolfini & Lenni Messi)

The Final Mission (Winston James)

Boat People (Paul Meschuh)


Best Documentary Film


Be Relentless (Jessie Marek & Brad Riley)

The Unstoppable Irving Fields (Martin Feinberg)

Plant Codes, Unleashing Nature’s Healing Power (Gary Null)

Nathan East: For The Record (Chris Gero & David Maxwell)

The Bullish Farmer (Ken Marsolais & Nancy Vick)


Best Supporting Actress in a Feature Film


Alicia Witt (6 Love Stories)

Clarissa Molocher (Hear The Silence)

Mira Sorvino (The Red Maple Leaf)

Nahanni Johnstone (Yellow Fever)

Terri Conn (North Of The City)


Best Actor in a Feature Film


Usman Sharif (Beyond The Silence)

Dustin Coffey (Fear, Love & Agoraphobia)

Martin Dingle Wall (Happy Hunting)

Frank D’Angelo (The Red Maple Leaf)

Jason Tobin (Jasmine)


Best Screenplay for a Feature Film


Beyond The Silence, written by Cathryna Stanley, Shawnee Gatlin & William Barbee

Hear The Silence, written by Alex Melzener

The Karma Club, written by Kevin Porter Young

Vive Le Morte, written by Thomas Welte

The Dunning Man, written by Michael Clayton & Kevin Fortuna


Best Director of a Feature Film


Alex D’Lerma (Fear, Love & Agoraphobia)

Bramwell Noah & Dan Noah (I, Timon)

Dax Phelan (Jasmine)

Joe Dietsch & Lucian Gibson (Happy Hunting)

Ed Ehrenberg (Hear The Silence)


Best Feature Film


The Dunning Man (Kevin Fortuna)

Happy Hunting (Jeff Kalligheri & Bryson Pintard)

Hear The Silence (Lou Binder)

Fear, Love & Agoraphobia (Alex D’Lerma, Dustin Coffey & Markus Linecker)

The Red Maple Leaf (Frank D’angelo, Mike Cecere & Gemma Runaghan)

Jasmine (Eric Klein & Dax Phelan)


Best of the Festival Jury Award


Hear The Silence (Lou Binder)

The Unstoppable Irving Fields (Martin Feinberg)

Happy Hunting (Jeff Kalligheri & Bryson Pintard)

The Dunning Man (Kevin Fortuna)

Fear, Love & Agoraphobia (Alex D’lerma, Dustin Coffey & Markus Linecker)


Best of the Festival Audience Award


The Breaking Point (Joe Gawalis)

D-love (Dave Rogers & Elena Bueca)

Bunnie (Tina Traster)

Undocumented (Patricia Shih)

Swiped Right (Dana Marisa Schoenfeld & Lydia Fiore)

Gas Light (Chuck Cuellar)

The following terms and conditions apply to cash awards and they cannot be deviated from under any circumstances: Cash prizes are conditioned upon winners personal presence and acceptance at the festival’s Gala Awards Ceremony. The winner of Best Feature Film, Best Documentary Feature, Best Short Film, Best TV Pilot and the Audience Award Best of the Festival, must be personally accepted by the projects’ producer, director or executive producer in order to be eligible for the cash prizes. In order to receive any cash prize, the winner’s film must have been submitted with the appropriate submission fee; films submitted without their respective submission fees are not eligible for cash prizes, though they may win HIFF award(s) and are entitled to the trophies if they do win any HIFF award(s). In the event that HIFF pays for airfare, hotel accommodations and/or ground transportation for any filmmakers and/or any individuals whatsoever and/or provides any free HIFF tickets (beyond the two complementary passes given to filmmakers) for any filmmakers and/or any individuals whatsoever, those said filmmakers/individuals shall forfeit the right to receive any cash prize(s) in a monetary value up to an amount equal to HIFF’s payment of his/her airfare, hotel accommodations and/or ground transportation and/or HIFF tickets(beyond the two complementary passes given to filmmakers).

Facebook Twitter
The Nations Hottest... True... Film Festival.