2016    Winners & Nominees

Best Actress in a Feature Film


Deborah Twiss (Confidence Game)

Anabella Casanova (Intersection)

*Karlee Roberts (Little Miss Perfect)

Daphne Zuniga (Those Left Behind)

Sharon Tal (Snapshot)


Best TV Pilot


Quarter Life (Ashley Miles & Jerah Milligan)

Cam Girls (David Slack)

*Videola (Alyssa Rallo Bennett)

Knights of New Jersey (Michael Hadley)

Miner Issues (Ryan McDowell)


Best Short Short


Good Business (Frank Dale Arroyo)

Buckeye (Cameron Fife)

Boardwalk (Mayur Chauhan)

*Counter Act (Steven Gottlieb)

Killing Time (Robert Stone)

Best Supporting Actor in a Feature Film


Chris Kattan (Breaking Legs)

*Matthew Lawrence (EVOL: The Theory of Love)

Eric Roberts (Six Gun Savior)

James Rich (Nothing Serious)

Jack Griffo (Those Left Behind)


Best Unproduced Screenplay


Cherry Ride, written by Scott Newell

Hunters Pointe, written by Scott Liapis

The Kid from Brooklyn, written by John McGuire

*Possessing Eden, written by Cameron Martin

Stillwell, written by Michael Phillip Cash


Best Cinematography


Ayan Pratap (Intersection)

David Le May (The Pineville Heist)

*Mike Gomes (The Closer)

Yudai Kato (Cesium and a Tokyo Girl)

Carlos Garcia De Dios (Seclusion)

Best Editing


Phyllis Housen & Deborah Twiss (Confidence Game)

*Christopher Emanuel Smith (But Not for Me)

Stephen Kaiser-Pendergrast & Scott Schuler (Little Miss Perfect)

Regg Skwarko (The Pineville Heist)

Christopher Roth & Kirk W. Murray (Six Gun Savior)


Best Short Film


*Mime (Anthony Gabriele)

Big City Casting (Ted Sluberski)

Bill (Joey Mosca)

Jack & Diane (Jennifer Pepperman)

Frontman (Matthew Gentile)


Best Documentary Film


Connected: A Film About Autistic People (Charlie Collura & Sonia Suvagau)

Since the Bombing of PAN AM Flight 103 (Spencer Averick & Phil Furey)

65 Percent (John Altino & Michael Altino)

*Hard to Believe (Ken Stone & Irene Silber)

People of the Delta (Joseph Lawrence, Anteneh Endale & Dawit Shimelis)

Best Supporting Actress in a Feature Film


Sean Young (Confidence Game)

*Lorraine Ziff (Six Gun Savior)

Natalie Britton (Flatbush Luck)

Isabella Palmieri (Little Miss Perfect)

Alexis Dziena (EVOL: The Theory of Law)


Best Actor in a Feature Film


Marcus Carl Franklin (But Not for Me)

James McCaffrey (Confidence Game)

*Conor Donovan (EVOL: The Theory of Love)

Tanner Novlan (Flatbush Luck)

Gregg Prosser (Second Chance)


Best Screenplay for a Feature Film


EVOL: The Theory of Love, written by Michael Perrone

Intersection, written by Michael French & Tim French

*Little Miss Perfect, written by Marlee Roberts

Nothing Serious, written by John Appleton

Snapshot, written by Doran Eran

Best Director of a Feature Film


Ryu Saitani (Cesium and a Tokyo Girl)

Casper Andreas (Flatbush Luck)

Carlos Cardona (Second Chance)

*Lee Chambers (The Pineville Heist)

Maria Finitzo (Those Left Behind)


Best Feature Film


Confidence Game (Deborah Twiss, Arun Kumar & Donna McKenna)

EVOL: The Theory of Love (Harry Bellenie, Geoffrey Makowski, Katherine Picariello & Richard Staubitz)

Flatbush Luck (Casper Andreas)

*Little Miss Perfect (Alec Isaacs, Joseph Klein, Kathryn Mahler, Nancy Malone & Marlee Roberts)

Intersection (Tim French, Rick Irvin & Hoyt Richards)


Best of the Festival Jury Award


Flatbush Luck (Casper Andreas)

*EVOL: The Theory of Love (Harry Bellenie, Geoffrey Makowski, Katherine Picariello & Richard Staubitz)

Little Miss Perfect (Alec Isaacs, Joseph Klein, Kathryn Mahler, Nancy Malone & Marlee Roberts)

Hard to Believe (Ken Stone & Irene Silber)

People of the Delta (Joseph Lawrence, Anteneh Endale & Dawit Shimelis)

Best of the Festival Audience Award


The Right to Live (Nancy Vazquez & Michele Frantzeskos)

*After the Outbreak (Larry Rosen)

This House Matters (Tina Traster)

Six Gun Savior (Kirk Murray)

Miner Issues (Ryan McDowell)

The following terms and conditions apply to cash awards and they cannot be deviated from under any circumstances: Cash prizes are conditioned upon winners personal presence and acceptance at the festival’s Gala Awards Ceremony. The winner of Best Feature Film, Best Documentary Feature, Best Short Film, Best TV Pilot and the Audience Award Best of the Festival, must be personally accepted by the projects’ producer, director or executive producer in order to be eligible for the cash prizes. In order to receive any cash prize, the winner’s film must have been submitted with the appropriate submission fee; films submitted without their respective submission fees are not eligible for cash prizes, though they may win HIFF award(s) and are entitled to the trophies if they do win any HIFF award(s). In the event that HIFF pays for airfare, hotel accommodations and/or ground transportation for any filmmakers and/or any individuals whatsoever and/or provides any free HIFF tickets (beyond the two complementary passes given to filmmakers) for any filmmakers and/or any individuals whatsoever, those said filmmakers/individuals shall forfeit the right to receive any cash prize(s) in a monetary value up to an amount equal to HIFF’s payment of his/her airfare, hotel accommodations and/or ground transportation and/or HIFF tickets(beyond the two complementary passes given to filmmakers).

HIFF - Logo - KD Top.jpg